Please log in to view the forum

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Please log in to view the forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Newb questions!!!

+3
Kitt
Newcastle knight
chrisw
7 posters
Go down
chrisw
http://www.tunamotorsport.com

Newb questions!!! Empty Newb questions!!!

Sat Oct 09, 2010 12:29 pm
Hi guys,

I'm a complete newb to american cars, i used to go to Newark Americana every year as a kid and always loved yank tanks so after owning a long list of performance jap machinery I had the opportunity to p/x my impreza wagon for a Trans am and i jumped at the chance.

Unfortunately i think i've bought the wrong model.....a 1987 GTA.
I've been looking round the forum and from what i can tell i've got to change loads of bits to get anywhere near the look.

Am I right in thinking i've got to change the rear lights before i can fit the black out, if so does anyone have any going cheap that i can buy?

i'm also desperate to get rid of the GTA spoiler and fit a KITT one, Does anyone know where i can get one from?

Can I modify the gta front bumper to resemble KITT's to the untrained eye?

Lastly, please don't flame me as i'm a total newb and don't want to do the whole conversion straight away!

Cheers Chris
Newcastle knight
Newcastle knight

Newb questions!!! Empty Re: Newb questions!!!

Sat Oct 09, 2010 12:40 pm
Hi mate, Welcome !

No you havnt bought the wrong car, you just need to do a bit more to it, to get it to look like KITT Smile I myself have got an 87 GTA too, and so does Dave Stapley, so your not alone ! one advantage with converting a later year car is you will have the TPI engine which are great engines, ive had my car 6 years now and have had no major problems, just service bits.

Firstly, yes you will have to swap the rear lights for the 82-84 style to fit the blackout, not a hard job, the hardest part will be finding some earlier lights.